“Urban”

One of my dreams is to be the public address announcer at an Ohio Sate football game. Well, I haven’t done it yet, but I came as close as I may ever come.

Yesterday, after announcing a Prospect American Legion doubleheader sweep of Lancaster, I stayed at Prospect Park to announce the second game of a 15-U travel doubleheader between the Ohio Elite and the Prospect Bulldogs at Larry Barnett Field.

The Elite had a new second baseman who will be a freshman at Bishop Watterson this fall. His name is Nate Meyer. Because Nate Meyer just joined the Elite, he had no number on his uniform. So, for one day, Nate was number “zero.”

Nate’s Dad is a bit better-known. His Dad is the head football coach at the Ohio State University. Urban Meyer. Coach Meyer joined Jimmy and myself in the air-conditioned Barnett Field press box for the entire game. As I announced the game and played between-innings music, we talked about life, sports, Jimmy’s future goals, his family and just about everything. Coach Meyer even chuckled when I told him my Dad went to law school at Michigan.

Spending two hours with Coach Meyer on Father’s Day is one of the highlights of my life. It was for Jimmy too. It is easy to understand why Urban Meyer is such a tremendous coach and recruiter. He cares about everyone.

From now on, when I see Coach Meyer, I will always remember Sunday June 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

